About the College

The College of Science was established in 1964, and it is one of the founding colleges of the University of Basra in 1964, and the first course graduated in 1968. The first college included four departments: sciences, life sciences and mathematics. In 1983, the Department of Computer Science was established as a link for the development of higher education in Iraq, and now it has turned into the College of Computer Science. and information. In 1993, the Department of Earth Science was established for this department of scientific importance due to the important geological and oil characteristics that the region enjoys. In 2012, the Environmental Department was established because of its important role as scientific cadres in the field of environment. Also, the Department of Pathological Analysis was opened in 2018 to provide institutions with scientific cadres of a distinguished scientific level.

The study is scheduled to begin at the proud institution of the Center for Marine Sciences, beginning as a research unit in 1977 from which the College of Marine Sciences emerged. The College of Science established the Polymer Research Center (the only one in Iraq) in 1966. It also includes the Polymer Association, which was founded in 1995. The College of Science has its advisory office in 1989, and it is one of the scientific colleges in the joint offices to provide institutions with the expertise and academic expertise that the College is rich in. Science, where the advisory office has accomplished many scientific projects at the local and national levels.